Welcome the 2018-2019 Cohort of the Innovative Leaders Institute

The Tennessee STEM Innovation Network is pleased to announce the 2018-2019 cohort for the Innovative Leaders Institute – a year-long professional learning opportunity designed to train highly effective principals, assistant principals, and school leaders to infuse a STEM culture in their school through innovative leadership and instructional strategies. School leaders were selected to participate in the program through a competitive application process.

“The Institute is designed to incorporate effective leadership strategies based upon research and best practices that drive innovation at the building level,” said Sandy Watkins, Director of the Tennessee STEM Innovation Network. “Our leadership teams will inspire faculty members to transform classroom practices from traditional to innovative learning environments and better prepare our Tennessee students for success.”

The Institute is led by faculty from several 2018 Tennessee STEM Designated Schools. The instructors include Becky Ashe, Principal of L&N STEM Academy in Knoxville, TN; Dr. Tony Donen, Principal of STEM School Chattanooga in Chattanooga, TN; Andy Demster, Principal of Maxine Smith STEAM Academy in Memphis, TN; Shanna Hensley, Principal of D-B Excel in Kingsport, TN; Dr. Catherine Jones, Principal of Prescott South Elementary School in Cookeville, TN; and Sandy Watkins, Director of the Tennessee STEM Innovation Network.

Innovative Leaders Institute participants apply as a team of two or three faculty members from the same school. The team must consist of a school principal or assistant principal and another building-level school leader. The Institute is free for all participants. For more information, visit the Innovative Leaders section of our website.


Innovative Leaders Institute 2018-2019 Cohort


School Participants
Campbell County Schools Elk Valley Elementary School Nancy Lay

Adam Hunley

Clarksville-Montgomery County Schools Carmel Elementary School Rosanne Sanford

Lena Childers

Clarksville-Montgomery County Schools Moore Magnet Elementary School Ptosha Maclin

Kristine Goddard

Crockett County Schools Crockett Middle School Bobby McLaughlin

Michele Holyfield

Davidson County Schools Stratford STEM Magnet Lower School Janet Wallace

Brandi Fregoe

Hamilton County Schools Harrison Elementary School Wendy Jung

Jiliana Tuttle

Hamilton County Schools Hixson Middle School George Hamrick

Carrie Bishop

Kingsport City Schools D-B EXCEL Brian Cinnamon

Erica Gardner

Vicki Livesay

Knox County Schools Shannondale Elementary School April Parton

Jessica Stafford

Knox County Schools L&N STEM Academy Steven York

Luke Bell

Roane County Schools Midway Elementary School Travis Langley

Emily Click

Rutherford County Schools Overall Creek Elementary School Don Bartch

Lea Bartch

Shelby County Schools Hickory Ridge Middle School Cedric Smith

Lakata Jackson-Green

Shelby County Schools Colonial Middle School Marqui Fifer

Felicia Thomas

Shelby County Schools Hollis F. Price Middle College High School Sandra Barnes

Jennifer Simmons

Shelby County Schools Mitchell High School Kelvin Meeks

Kenya Minor

Sumner County Schools Dr. William Burrus Elementary School Mary Day Reynolds

Jennifer Anglin

Sumner County Schools Jack Anderson Elementary School Tressa Sanders

Jonathan Thurman

Sumner County Schools Station Camp Elementary School

Phillip Holt

Karen Jarratt

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *