Jack Rhoton Awarded Highest Honor by NSTA

Congratulations to Dr. Jack Rhoton, director of ETSU’s Northeast Tennessee STEM Innovation Hub, on receiving the Robert H. Carleton Award for National Leadership in the Field of Science Education by the National Science Teachers Association.

RhotonJackThe award recognizes one individual who has made outstanding contributions to science education at the national level and to NSTA. It is the highest and most prestigious award a NSTA member can receive.

Rhoton received the award during the 2014 NSTA Teacher Awards ceremony held in Boston. “NSTA awardees bring both passion and patience to the day-to-day teaching of science,” said NSTA President Bill Badders. “We honor these educators for their lifelong dedication and for instilling a sense of wonder in students through imaginative and innovative science teaching.”

Throughout his long career in science education, Rhoton has been committed to boosting STEM learning and student achievement in the northeast Tennessee region. His leadership was instrumental in establishing Innovation Academy, a TSIN platform school in Kingsport.

Rhoton is a professor of science education at ETSU and executive director of the Center of Excellence in Mathematics and Science Education. He has dedicated 27 years at ETSU, building a nationally recognized professional development program for K-16 science education. Prior to joining ETSU, Rhoton served as a high school science teacher and K-12 science supervisor.

Known for his creative approaches to investigating science education issues, his work focuses on the preparation of pre-service and in-service teachers of science and mathematics. A prolific science education author, he has published six books and sixty journal articles.

Rhoton has served as president of the National Science Education Leadership Association (NSELA), Tennessee Academy of Science (TAS), and the Tennessee Science Teachers Association (TSTA). He has received many honors, including the National Science Education Leadership Outstanding Science Education Leadership Award, National Science Teachers Association Distinguished Service Award, East Tennessee State University Distinguished Faculty Award, Tennessee Academy of Science Outstanding Science Teacher Award, and the Tennessee Science Teachers Association Distinguished Educator of the Year Award.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *